Jump to main content
			Jump to extra content
			Jump to menu
			Jump to language menu
		

Why Open-Source ?

The open-source project TYPO3 is licensed under the GPL (GNU Public License). The program code of an open-source software gets shipped together with the software in a human readable form - meaning not only a compiled, binary version. GPL software grants even further permissions: Once obtained it allows to use the software completly free of charge and redistribute it again. You are even allowed to reuse the code if you release a changed version under the same license model again.

The active participation of a huge community brings with it an enormous innovation potential. "The free exchange of knowledge as well as the free access to technical information and communication platforms takes center stage in open-source." - Bernhard Kraft, who brought one of the philosopies of the TYPO3 project to the point.

The term "open-source" is no indicator for the licence form or the licence costs of a software. When software is licensed under the GPL this gurantees that it can be distributed free of charge.

Developments in recent years like the Android mobile phone platform developed by google and based upon Linux shows which enormous potential open source software has. Other wide spread applications like Mozilla Firefox or the OpenOffice/LibreOffice productivity suite are also but proofs of the great concept of open source software.

Free Software Foundation: http://www.fsf.org

Springe zu Hauptinhalt
			Springe zu extra Inhalt
			Springe zu Hauptmenü
			Springe zu Sprachmenü
		

Warum Open-Source ?

Das Open-Source Projekt TYPO3 unterliegt der GPL (GNU Public License). Der Programmcode einer Open-Source-Software wird in einer für den Menschen lesbaren Form publiziert. GPL Software darf uneingeschränkt genutzt und verbreitet werden. Mit der Nutzung und Verbreitung von GPL-Software sind keine Zahlungsverpflichtungen gegenüber dem Lizenzgeber verbunden. GPL-Software darf ebenso nach belieben verändert werden unter der Voraussetzung, dass geänderter Code wiederum unter derselben Lizenz steht falls dieser weitergegeben wird.

Die aktive Beteiligung einer großen Community bringt enormes Innovationspotential. „Der freie Austausch von Wissen sowie wie der freie Zugang zu technischem Wissen und Kommunikationsmitteln steht im Zentrum von Open Source“, bringt Bernhard Kraft die Philosophie auf den Punkt.

Die Bezeichnung Open-Source gibt keine Auskunft über die Lizenzform und Lizenzkosten einer Software. Erst durch die Bezeichung „GPL“ wird festgelegt, dass eine Software kostenlos vertrieben werden darf.

Entwicklungen der letzten Jahre wie das Android Betriebssystem für Smartphones und Tablet PCs, entwickelt von google, zeigen welches enorme Potential in Open-Source Software steckt. Andere weitverbreitete Applikationen wie der Mozilla Firefox Webbrowser oder die OpenOffice/LibreOffice Produktivitätsumgebung sind ebenso Zeuge für das großartige Konzept der Quelloffenen Software.

Free Software Foundation: http://www.fsf.org